RSS

Famous First Lines – TRIVIA!

08 Oct
Famous First Lines – TRIVIA!

I recently began my dream job – as a middle school librarian.  I am fully immersed in the world of middle grade fiction, library cataloging, textbook repair, and, oh yeah, middle schoolers.  I’m surprised how much I love them!  Readers and non-readers, doesn’t matter – kids are cool and interesting.

In order to make the library more interesting (and as a topic for the dreaded Library Display Board – replacing the head shots of long dead authors who had graced that particular wall for several years now), I decided to launch a trivia contest centered on Famous First Lines, all of them from children’s books.  The rules for the students are that they can use the internet to do their research (as long as they get an answer, I figure they are learning something!), but I’m curious to see how many adults will be able to guess without the use of a search engine.

I’m looking for Book Title and Author.  Give it your best shot!

Here’s the quiz:

1. Mr. and Mrs. Dursley, of number four, Privet Drive, were proud to say that they were perfectly normal, thank you very much.

2. All children, except one, grow up.

3. In a hole in the ground there lived a Hobbit.

4. You don’t know about me without you have read a book by the name of The Adventures of Tom Sawyer, but it ain’t no matter.

5. Once there were four children whose names were Peter, Susan, Edmund, and Lucy.

6. There was no lake at Camp Green Lake.

7. Dorothy lived in the midst of the great Kansas prairies, with Uncle Henry, who was a farmer, and Aunt Em, who was the farmer’s wife.

8. “Where’s Papa going with that ax?” said Fern to her mother as they were setting the table for breakfast.

9. Buck did not read the newspapers or he would have known that trouble was brewing, not alone for himself, but for every tidewater dog, strong of muscle and with warm, long hair, from Puget Sound to San Diego.

10. Call me Ishmael.

Have fun!

 
3 Comments

Posted by on October 8, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

3 responses to “Famous First Lines – TRIVIA!

  1. Chris Campbell

    October 8, 2013 at 1:12 pm

    No internet just guessing…. How did I do? 1. Harry Potter 2. Peter Pan 3. The Hobbit 4. Huck Finn 5. The Lion, the Witch & the Wardrobe 6. Holes 7. Wizard of Oz 8. Charlotte’s Web 9. Call of the Wild (total guess) 10. Moby Dick

    Chris Campbell, Architect REDHOUSE architecture design 448 Pendegast Street Woodland, CA 95695 (530) 662-6298

     
    • yournextbestbook

      October 8, 2013 at 1:17 pm

      You got them all, although I would make you tell me which Harry Potter book! Nice job!

       
  2. Chris

    October 8, 2013 at 1:39 pm

    Oops I thought I was emailing just you Amy. Ididn’t want to spoil it for others…. Pay no attention to my first post!

     

Leave a Reply

 
